Second ERGA meeting for Audiovisual Media Services

The European Regulators Group for Audiovisual Media Services met on the 21st October 2014 in Brussels for the second time. ERGA adopted a statement on the need for regulatory independence.
EU flag

ERGA adopted a statement on the need for regulatory independence.

ERGA asks the European Commission, as the initiator of European legislation, to take the considerations in this statement and the following work into account in the context of the upcoming REFIT exercise of the AVMS Directive.

Members also discussed the Work Programme for 2015 and approved the outlines of the future work of two subgroups: on protection of minors and material jurisdiction.

The European Commission has formally established a Group of EU Regulatory Authorities in the field of Audiovisual Media Services on 3 February 2014. Its Inaugural meeting took place on 4 March 2014. It is composed of 28 heads or high level representatives of the independent national regulatory authorities for audiovisual media services nominated by each Member State as members of the Group. Iceland, Lichtenstein and Norway as well as candidate countries and European Platform of Regulatory Authorities (EPRA) and European Audiovisual Observatory were invited in their capacity as observers. 

The Group advises the Commission in implementing the EU's Audiovisual Media Services Directive (AVMSD) in a converged media age.

In its 2013 report, the independent High Level Group (HLG) on Media Freedom and Pluralism recommended the formalisation of cooperation between regulatory bodies in the field of audiovisual media services to share common good practice and setting quality standards. Moreover, the majority of respondents to the public consultation on the independence of audiovisual regulatory bodies believed that cooperation between regulatory bodies is crucial in the convergent environment. They also supported the legally mandated gathering of these authorities at European level.

In November 2013, the Council of the European Union and the representatives of the Governments of the Member States, meeting within the Council, also invited Member States to ensure the independence of their audiovisual regulatory bodies and Commission to strengthen cooperation between regulatory authorities in the field of audiovisual media services.


Millions of Europeans catch up with their favourite TV series on a smartphone on the way to work, watch online content on their living room TV, or put their own user-generated content online. There are more than 40.4 million "connected TVs" in Europe, and they could be in the majority of EU households by 2016.

The formal group of EU Regulatory Authorities in the field of Audiovisual Media Services will complement the work of the Contact Committee which was established by Article 29 AVMSD. The Contact Committee is chaired by the Commission and composed of representatives of the authorities of the Member States. It may be convened at the request of any of the delegations. The Contact Committee was established to monitor the implementation of the Directive and the developments in the sector and as a forum for the exchange of views. It deals not only with the existing audiovisual policy but also with the relevant developments arising in this sector.

ERGA statement on the independence of NRAs in the audiovisual sector

ERGA work programme 2015


Go to top

The National Broadcasting Council's Office

Skwer kard. S. Wyszyńskiego 9, 01-015 Warsaw, Poland
tel: ( 48 22) 597 3000, fax (48 22) 597 3180

We use cookies to provide you with a better user experience and for statistical purposes.
If you do not block cookies, you consent to use them and store them in the memory of your device.